The Toronto Sound

In the years since I published Toronto’s Secret I’ve been seeing mention online of a “Toronto sound” whenever I’ve explored links that a Google search for my name has returned. But I wonder if anyone can describe the Toronto sound especially when the Arkansas, USA Hawks are thought by some to have contributed to it. But whether or not a Toronto sound can be characterized as uniquely different from ways that pop tunes are performed in other localities, there is a quality that separates the manner of a Canadian pop music performance that differs from pop performances in other places evident in Gene MacLellan’s tunes especially “Snowbird” and Buddy Burke’s “Big Old Moon” Terry Roberts covering of “Oh Lonesome me” and Max Falcon’s, “I thought I heard You Callin’ my name” which all exhibit a similar sense of forlorn isolation, perhaps also voiced in the Midnights’ Charleena.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.